Hydrant Hysteria

June 9 - 12 | Exposition: June 10 - 12 | Colorado Convention Center | Denver, CO | USA


Congratulations to the 2018 winners!

First: City of Virginia Beach, Virginia Section, 1:14.10

Second: City of Sacramento, California/Nevada Secton, 1:25.57

Third: City of Des Plaines, Illinois Section, 1:30.78


2019 Presenting Sponsor

Competition Championship Sponsor


Hydrant Hysteria Hall of Fame

2017 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Hydrant Used: M&H 129 Hydrant
First: Bloomington Blue Birds, City of Bloomington, Minnesota Section, 1:33:60
Second. Sacramento Hydromaniacs, City of Sacramento Dept. of Utilities, California – Nevada Section, 1:35:69
Third: Midnight Hydrant Repair, Milwaukee Water Works, Wisconsin Section, 1:58:97

Hydrant Hysteria FAQ’s

What is Hydrant Hysteria?
Hydrant Hysteria is a fast-paced competition where two-member teams assemble a specified hydrant as quickly as they can.

Where is it held?
Hydrant Hysteria Competitions are often held during AWWA Section Conferences. The national-level of this Competition is conducted at AWWA’s Annual Conference & Exposition (ACE).

Who is eligible to enter?
One two-member team may participate from each Section. In addition, the local host may send a second team. In the case of more than one local host, only one team may enter from the locality. In addition, each team member must be an individual, active, operations member of AWWA or a regular employee of a utility member or organization member. Each participating team represents an AWWA Section.

How can the Section winner enter the national Hydrant Hysteria Competition?
Each two-person team must pre-register for the national Hydrant Hysteria Competition using an online registration form. Please register by the deadline provided so that the competition coordinators can accommodate all teams.

Must Competitors register for the Conference?
No, it is not necessary for competitors to register for the entire conference unless they plan to attend professional sessions, etc. Complimentary exhibit hall badges will be provided to participants so they can gain admittance to the hall on the day of the competition.

What is the prize?
A plaque or trophy will be awarded to the 1st- and 2nd- place winners at the national-level contest. The 1st place team will have their expenses reimbursed to compete in the following year’s contest at the AWWA Annual Conference, subject to AWWA expense policies.

What brand of hydrants are used?

Sponsoring manufacturers and the Hydrant Hysteria Subcommittee determine the yearly hydrant featured. This hydrant is specified on the Hydrant Hysteria web page.


Is your company interested in providing InKind materials for a competition?

Please complete the attached InKind Material Sponsor Expression of Interest Form. Completed forms can be sent to the Competition Coordinator.  

Tuesday, June 11

1:00-6:00 p.m.     Preliminaries

Wednesday, June 12

11:15 a.m.-1:30 p.m.     Finals




For questions regarding Hydrant Hysteria Registration or for general questions and volunteer opportunities, please contact the Competition Coordinator303.347.6196.

Team Name – Men  Competitor Names Section Utility
 Hydrant Team 6  Jud Kirkness & Joseph D. Swain Alaska City & Borough of Sitka
 City of Columbus  Mark Evans, Jon Good, & James Roberts Ohio  City of Columbus Public Utilities 
Virginia Beach Hydrant Team Thomas Burnett, Michael D. Sherwood II, & Matt Hood Virginia City of Virginia Beach Public Utilities
 City of Battle Creek Andrew Matthews & Reuben West Michigan City of Battle Creek 
 WaterOne Steve McMullin, Tyler Nickle, & Ethan Smith Kansas WaterOne


Team Name – Women  Competitor Names Section Utility
 Master Builders  Nicole Woods, Sabrina Parker, & Aaron Wasko  Kansas City of Olathe

AWWA specifically does not endorse products manufactured by sponsors and takes no position concerning the adequacy of such products or their compliance with any AWWA Standard. AWWA Sections and competitors may use the hydrant of their choice for the regional competition, provided it meets the specifications listed in the competition rules.